NASCIO 2022 State IT Recognition Awards
Days Left
to Enter

The NASCIO State IT Recognition Awards honor innovation and excellence in the use of information technology in state government. NASCIO is seeking nominations of transformational projects and initiatives that address critical business problems, improve business processes and increase citizen engagement in state government. 


Who can submit?

  • Open to NASCIO State/Territory Members in good standing
  • Other NASCIO members may work with a state CIO office to coordinate a nomination
  • Nominations must be submitted by the state CIO office or from a state agency with state CIO office approval (person submitting nomination must have a state email address)

What projects are eligible?

  • Project implemented with the past 24 months (Emerging & Innovative Technologies Category projects may be in beta phase)
  • Project must be state-focused (not federal/local/regional)
  • Multi-state projects are encouraged (only one state should submit but all involved will be recognized)
  • Project may be a phase of a larger initiative (only the benefits of the specific phase will be evaluated and recognized)

What else should I know?

  • Only one nomination per category per state
  • A project may only be submitted in one category 
  • Projects previously named as an Award Recipient may not be resubmitted
  • Nominations must be submitted online
  • Nominations must adhere to the Project Nomination Guidelines

​​Award Categories

  • Business Process Innovations
  • Cross-Boundary Collaboration & Partnerships
  • Cybersecurity
  • Data Management, Analytics & Visualization
  • Digital Services: Government to Business
  • Digital Services: Government to Citizen
  • Emerging & Innovative Technologies
  • Enterprise IT Management Initiatives
  • Information Communications Technology (ICT) Innovations
  • State CIO Office (or equivalent) Special Recognition

Additional information provided in the packet located in the Downloads section.

Nomination Requirements
Required Sections and Page Allotment

  • File name must follow the naming convention of StateAbbreviation_Category (ex. KY_Cybersecurity)
  • Submissions must be submitted as a PDF that is no more than 7 pages
    • Page 1 | Cover Page (include state, agency, award category, project title, project dates and contact)
    • Pages 2 - 7 | Executive Summary and Project Narrative (Idea, Implementation and Impact)
  • Nominations may reference private-sector partners, but must not include logos in the document or company/product names in the submission title

Supplemental Materials

Nominations may include URLs of public-facing, project-specific sites. Judges may visit a site for clarification, but the project narrative will be the main basis of scoring. When writing the narrative, please assume judges will not visit the site. 
The inclusion of URLs is beneficial to other states when the nomination is included in the NASCIO Awards Library.

Do not include supplemental materials (videos, brochures, press releases, news articles, marketing materials), as these items will not be reviewed by judges.

*All submissions must follow the prescribed format outlined above. Submissions that do not meet the requirements will not be considered.

NASCIO will review all nominations to determine compliance with eligibility, nomination requirements and alignment with selected award category. If the nomination does not meet the guidelines, the nominator will be notified and granted 48 hours to resolve the situation. Nominations that remain non-compliant will not be reviewed by judges.

Nomination Scoring

  • Judges will use the Project Narrative (Idea, Implementation and Impact) as the basis of their scores
  • Nominations are scored by a volunteer panel of NASCIO state and corporate members. Judges do not score projects from their own state or in which their company played a role. NASCIO makes every effort to avoid potential conflicts of interest.
  • In each award category, the three (3) highest rated nominations will be named as finalists. The highest rated nomination in each award category will be named the award recipient.
  • A state can be recognized as an award recipient in no more than two categories in a given year. If a state has recipient-level scores in more than two categories, the two highest scored nominations will be selected as the recipient in the respective categories. Multi-state initiatives and the State CIO Office Special Recognition category are exceptions to this rule.

Detailed information provided in the packet in the Downloads section.